2003 Results - Carson City, Nevada

Karl-Heinz Hille of Berlin, Germany, took top honors at the World Beard and Moustache Championships held in Carson City, Nevada, on November 1, 2003. Second place in the overall division went to 82-year-old Alf Jarrold of Manchester, England, while Dave Traver of Anchorage, Alaska, took third place.

Heinz Christofel of Heddesheim, Germany, was chosen by the spectators as the people’s choice. Seventeen-year-old Cameron Bynum of Reno, Nevada, was awarded a special trophy as the youngest competitor, and Bram Rosenfeld of Hong Kong received a trophy as the contestant who traveled the farthest to attend, 6900 miles.

Category World Champion Second Place Third Place
Moustache Natural Cosimo Lepore Italy Arne G. Jacobsen Norway Bram Rosenfeld Hong Kong
English Moustache Tony Papai Germany Ferdinand Romankiewicz Germany Lutz Giese Germany
Dali Moustache Jeff Well Port Angeles, Washington André Nathusius Germany Martin Trendle Switzerland
Handlebar Moustache Gary Hagen Gilroy, California Maury Apfel Carson  City, Nevada Herbert Braunschmid Germany
Wild West Moustache Günter Rosin Germany Josef Ibach Germany Bruce Roe Bremerton, Washington
Fu Manchu Moustache Ted Sedman England Paul Miller Alta Loma, California Detlef Steinhöfel Germany
Imperial Moustache Karl-Heinz Hille Germany Franz Mitterhauser Austria Jürgen Burkhardt Germany
Freestyle Moustache Günter Krauss Germany Lars Olav Brå Norway Arwed Leichsenring Germany
Natural Goatee Dieter Gugel Germany Gerhard Mueller Germany (co-champions) (no second place) Doug Claussen Seabeck, Washington
Musketeer Gary Johnson Olalla, Washington Jürgen Draheim Germany Reinhard Bürker Germany
Sideburns Alf Jarrald England Uwe Wankmüller Germany Bruno Panza Italy
Freestyle Goatee Jürg Biland Switzerland Friedrich Schädel Germany Gerhard Knapp Germany
Full Beard Natural David Traver Anchorage, Alaska Alois Plettl Germany Paul Boschert Germany
Full Beard Styled Moustache Karl-Heinz Rein Germany Bruce Hagen Paradise, California Wilhelm Preuss Germany
Garibaldi Gerhard Schmidbauer Germany Franz-Peter Pill Germany Fritz Sendlhofer Austria
Verdi Marcus Bross Germany Willi Segalotto Germany Peter Diehm Germany
Full Beard Freestlye Hans Gassner Austria Elmar Weisser Germany Heinz Christofel Germany